Proofreading projects wanted

image

I am new to the world of publishing and have recently completed a proofreading course, with a final grade of B-. Unfortunately for me though I will not receive an accreditation certificate as I was unable to attain a final grade of B. Such a fine line margin, but I refuse to let that put me off trying to change my career path.

To get me started on this new path to becoming my own boss, I am appealing to all writers everywhere. I am looking for proofreading projects in the real world, to gain experience, to practice my new found skills and to improve my ability to spot the obvious and hidden errors within a text, essay or manuscript.

I am happy to work with printed typescripts, marking corrections in pen or even PDF or Word manuscripts (something I definitely need practice with in the current world of technology).

I will offer competitive rates of pay and am happy to negotiate costs (including postage/courier payments) prior to mutual agreement.

No project is too big or too small and if you have a specific deadline, just let me know in your initial contact.

If this sounds like something you would like to embark on then contact me, Faye Brown via email.

I look forward to hearing from you soon, and please feel free to re-share.

Related Posts

Standing at the crossroads

Proofreading update

Categories: Life goes on, The Freelance Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Proofreading projects wanted

  1. Nigel

    How are you getting on? I’ve just started the final assessment for the proofreading segment of the Chapterhouse proofreading and copyediting course. Have you managed to find any work or useful experience?

    • Hi Nigel

      Thanks for commenting on my blog.

      I’ve completed the proofreading modules twice now with a duration of 12 years between them. On both occasions I was awarded a B-, this time around I have not yet completed the copy editing due to a terrible fatigue illness but previously they awarded me another B-. Not quite high enough to be accredited by them.

      Saying that though, I have got a regular proofreading job for a small magazine and often get asked for quotes from local authors interested in self publishing.

      I wish you good luck and who knows I may get around to finishing the second part of the course (however I am not sure it’s worth the money).

      Faye

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

