Status Update

Rather than write several articles today spamming your feeds and inbox I have opted for one to cover all. Not sure if this will work out, but definitely worth a try, don’t you think?

My life, my journey…

It has been an incredibly long couple of weeks since I last posted about my debilitating lack of energy and pain. My last post focused on the emotional overloads that are caused by extreme pain followed by fatigue followed by more pain.

During the last month I have kept a pain diary to show my GP. I had my appointment with him last week. Anyway, he signed me off work for another month and after having read my pain diary decided that he would chase up my referral for the fatigue clinic (he is now more convinced that I have been struggling with CFS and Fibromyalgia for a long time). It has been three months and I haven’t yet heard from them.

We spoke about medication again. I have been taking Amitriptyline since December 2011 with increasing dosage but for the last six weeks it has not helped me in the slightest. Unless of course you include the fact that it leaves me so doped that my family struggle to wake me in the morning. For pain management though, it has stopped working and I have been living on maximum doses of paracetamol and ibuprofen since I last saw the doctor. So this week sees me lowering the Amitriptyline dose to nil and starting on Gabapentin, slowly increasing to 300 mg a day. After just 7 days I have been able to take less ibuprofen, but I hit the emotional black wall again yesterday.

Silly little things that shouldn’t have bothered me at all became huge deals, and I took every little hint/error/dig as a personal jibe. Which meant that I seriously lacked enjoyment on a special day which then had the knock on effect of making my immediate family miserable too. I knew that all this was totally illogical and once I had found the time to calm down I then began to mentally beat myself up over my behaviour. Needless to say I didn’t get much sleep last night because my brain just would not shut down.

Because I am signed off work I have applied for Employment Support Allowance (ESA), well what a joke that is! They seem to think a person can live on 50p a week! It isn’t worth applying for. On top of that I have had to also complete a questionnaire for Atos, they are the ones who decided whether you should be entitled to support. At the moment they are the laughing stock of the country and have successfully upset a whole lot of people. After three hours of form filling I was about ready to drop. Drop into the nearest hole in the ground and disappear forever! That was only four days ago, I’m starting to feel more positive again.

The Freelance Life

This has been a slow start for me, but is now starting to look up. I have been in discussions with two companies about proofreading/editing services, one for a magazine and one for an outdoor supplies website.

This weekend saw my first job come in and I am very excited about working with them (top secret for now I am afraid). However, we have found through our first experience working together that there is a lot of scope for improving time efficiency and financial viability (due to the lack of computer software at my finger tips.) A task that I have been attempting to rectify this morning in advance of the next issue.

A big plus working on this project has been the ability to communicate swiftly and cheaply thanks to the wonderful invention of social networking sites and smart phones. Instant messaging has been a godsend this weekend.

Another thing I discovered was that I was able to work on and off throughout the day, giving my body time to recover before the next onslaught. A much better process for working, rather than an employed job having to work six hours straight with a 30 minute lunch break. Looking back through my notes on the project I found that I was able to handle about an hour at a time, then a break, then back for an hour. This helped me to keep the pain and stress levels lower than they would have been if I had ensured that I stuck with a structured work regime.

For more details on proofreading services, view my page.

Luminesence76

It would seem that our decision to create a Facebook page for our Etsy online store was a great idea. Within the first week alone Freya has received five custom orders via Facebook and we have seen the page being shared with friends of friends. It is yet to begin generating further business on Etsy though. But time will prevail, I have faith in Freya’s small project.

For more details on the products available click on the Etsy link below or go straight to our Facebook page for some exclusive items.

Categories: Life goes on, My life, my journey, The Freelance Life, Wolfiesworks | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Status Update

  1. Pingback: My life, my journey… | geocachingwithgeokids

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

