A Geocachers’ Kit List

image

What’s in your backpack?

For quite some time I have wanted to share my geocaching backpack with you. Mostly because I find it quite heavy and don’t really know what I am carrying. My backpack has been part of my caching adventures for two years now, and I am forever filling it with extra items “that may come in handy”.

When I began geocaching all I would take was my smart phone (with only the free Groundspeak app installed), a pen and the local OS Explorer map with the geocaches already plotted. It was only after attending some of the county events and learning about the other things that geocachers’ take with them that I decided it was time to invest in a rucksack.

Today though I thought I should take a better look at what I carry about with me (other than a packed lunch and drinks).

  1. 10l backpack
  2. Piratemania V trackable tag (yes my backpack is trackable)
  3. 4 pens (one has a light for the all important night time finds)
  4. lock n lock box full of swappable swag
  5. St John Ambulance First Aid kit (old habits die hard)
  6. Micro fleece travel towel (you never know when you will get wet)
  7. Emergency Poncho
  8. Dog poop bags
  9. 3 hand torches
  10. 1 head torch (with red & white light)
  11. Rolson mutli tool
  12. Spare log sheets
  13. Spare nano geocache containers
  14. Spare bison containers
  15. Spare 35 mm container
  16. Telescopic magnet with torch
  17. Spare rechargeable batteries
  18. Garmin Oregon 450 GPS unit
  19. Personal field note book (for puzzles/multi’s and other notes)
  20. Personal stamp book (for letterbox hybrid geocaches)
  21. Spare notebook
  22. Emergency whistle
  23. Current trackable inventory

Okay, so that was a lot more than I thought, no wonder it is heavy… And not forgetting that smif247 also has his backpack too with much the same in. In addition to all the geocache tools (penknife, tweezers etc) and waterproof coats, we now have to carry an extra water bottle and food (for Misty).

Then there are days where we need to take even more:- climbing gear! That’s a whole other bag.

20121124_103311

Ropes!! What for?

Here we have three harness’s; two climbing ropes; two static lines; gri-gir’s; ascenders; prussiks; carabiners; chalk; slings galore. A whole heap of gear and for what? Well it would seem that not all geocachers are happy with “base of tree” or “ivy covered post”, so what do they do? They set geocaches at the top of tree’s (or suspended between two trees), some of which are not safe for free climbing, or on the underside of a bridge which you will need to abseil to and even half way down a chalk cliff face. I also saw a video on you tube once of a geocache on a dam. This brings me to the next bit of geocaching kit!

A Boat!

A Boat!

Are we going just a little too far now? Some bright spark thought it would be a great idea if there were geocaches out on small islands that were home to forts (Fort Micro #13 – Fort Darnett) and others even went as far as placing caches along rivers that are mostly accessible by boat alone (Float Your Boat).

I forgot to mention that a few times we have even had to take skateboards along for a ride (in long spider strewn tunnels). So what is next I wonder! I am rapidly running out of storage space for our extended geo-gear.

Skateboard as a mode of transportation

Skateboard as a mode of transportation

Categories: Geo Stories | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A Geocachers’ Kit List

  1. Love it. You guys are quite crazy. I think once our girls are grown up, we may be disappearing down tunnels and up trees 😉 Enjoying the blog and the great photos. Just a small point – errr, shouldn’t your kayak be in *water* not in your living room? 😉 Have fun caching!

    • Lol yes I can confirm we are crazy and I refuse to let my illness stop me from doing the fun things. I do pay for it later though. A simple tree climb can knock me for six for at least a week.
      You may find that as your children go older they will enjoy the slightly more adventurous geocache. Mine are really bored with normal trads.

  2. Great read. I really enjoy a challenging cache, but one bag is plenty for me! When I need anything, I can never find it, and it only materializes when I get home! Cant they make better rucksacks that you can access easier? Plus you have to take the wretched thing off to climb a tree, or squeeze through a gap!

  3. andrew perry

    pretty cool, crazy? maybe, but no more crazy than the rest of us. any excuse for getting out and experiencing the environment. i enjoyed reading your article

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

