Wolfiesworks lesson in clay

Kent County Cachers

Kent County Cachers

As part of managing Wolfie’s Facebook page (and accounts) I am allowed to have as many charms and items as I would like. I’m not about to take advantage of this as I am willing to help Wolfie make a business out of clay sculpting, especially as, at the end of the day, she is still a teenager.

So instead of Wolfie making me something, she gave me a lesson in making my own key fob. I wanted to have the Kent County Cachers (geocaching) logo. Something easy, don’t you think? Well, with the exception of the Kent Invicta perhaps, but Wolfie had an idea about that.

Step One

Decide on a base colour (We chose glow in the dark, because we wanted to try it out) and roll it out to the required size and thickness. We actually printed off a copy of the logo to give us a guide size of 6 cm by 6cm.

Roll out the base

Roll out the base

Step Two

I cut out the logo and placed it onto the base so that I was able to cut nice straight edges. I’m not particularly good at keeping a steady hand, and that helped me. Using a sharp craft knife I cut the clay to size.

Cut out the base

Cut out the base

Step Three

I then repeated the previous process with the four small coloured squares that make up the county geocachers logo. First rolling out the clays to the required size and thickness, before cutting them into squares.

Squares are really easy

Squares are really easy

Step Four

Once all the required layers are in place and smoothed out (in my case moved and adjusted carefully because I like perfection) and a hole is made so I can add either a ball chain or split ring later, place the clay item on a clean baking tray and bake in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes at 150°. The baking process hardens the clay.

Time for baking

Time for baking

Step Five

Here comes the slightly tricky bit. Replicating the drawings of the logo onto the cooled base. Wolfie decided it would be a good idea to carefully cut out the Kent Invicta and use the clear glaze to paste it into place. This idea seems to have worked out well.

Draw on the images

Draw on the images

Then came the time to replicate the other images. We used a very fine permanent marker (0.5 nib) to do this, and my not so steady hand. However I was pleased with the result.

Step Six

Just before glazing I wanted to put my mark on the back, my geocaching name. The final stage was glazing and attaching a ball chain. Wolfie uses a clear acrylics glaze, it protects the hardened clay and any detail that has been applied. It also seems to be water resistant too. Which is very handy for most of the things she makes.

Reverse

Reverse

 

Front

Front

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And there you have it, my first ever clay creation. We added the results to Wolfiesworks and by the following morning we had recieved a few orders. So Wolfie let me make those too. I’m pleased with the results and it kept me out of trouble for a day.

Kent County Cachers key fobs

Kent County Cachers key fobs

Categories: Life goes on, Wolfiesworks | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

